AASL 16th National Conference IdeaXchange Take One

I’ve been brainstorming some ideas for the AASL Exploratorium/ IdeaXchange in Hartford next November.  It seems like a regular poster presentation but perhaps with a technology twist.  My thoughts are a mess, but I’ve been thinking about this article from the NYT about the lack of Latina characters and this earlier Atlantic article about a lack in characters of color in YA.  From what I can tell from this video about the last Exploratorium, there has not been a recent presentation on multicultural literature at AASL.  So maybe there is something there…

The new Non-fiction requirement has been on my mind too.  Can that get mixed in?  Is there something about being at an international school that can clearly contribute?  And given my reaction to the lack of graphic novels at YA Lit Syp, I feel a responsibility to share some.

Best practices?  Or a muddled mess?

More thinking is required.

Leave a Reply

