“The idea of me…

“The idea of meeting writers of the books I’ve read doesn’t interest me. That is to say, I wouldn’t go out of my way. If the book is alive to me, if the sentences speak to me, that’s enough. A reader’s relationship is with the book, with the words, not with the person who created it. I don’t want the author to explain anything to me or to interfere. Still, I wish I’d met Edward Gorey before he died, if only to salute his brilliance.”

Jhumpa Lahiri, in the New York Times.

Leave a Reply

