Toggl-ing

Screen Shot 2013-10-22 at 1.54.10 PMAs part of my attempt to get my workflow under control, I started using Toggl to track my tasks and my hours.  I’ve divided my work life into 5 categories that sort of emulate the AASL vision for the roles of school librarians and am updating my tasks every hour.  My current categories include Collection Maintenance, Instruction, Reference/Circulation, Professional Development, Information Literacy, and Program Manager.  Along with my Asana Tasks, I feel like I have a good sense of what I want to accomplish and how I’m using my time.

I definitely define most of my day as Ref/Circ because it’s when I do all the little essential things – circ, processing, responding to email, reading PD, researching new books, finding inspiration, following up with teachers & students, impromptu IL training, and meeting with my officemates. Rec/Circ is the simplest way to quantify how a dozen 5 minute conversations over the course of a week can create and develop an important policy but it’s definitely not a perfect category.

I’ve always been fascinated by the law firm concept of “billable hours” and have some friends how have to notate every 6 minutes of their time.  While I have been pretty lazy about adding things to Toggl, I’m hoping get into demarcating every 30 minutes through the day.  It’ll be fun to see what I’ve been up to and, maybe in December, develop some strategies to be more productive.  Big maybe.

Leave a Reply

